Cate Blanchett: Muse

I thought as I have been a teeny bit too tired/busy to draw anything new as regards to fashion, that I would post an oil painting that I did last year during my final year of college.
It’s of Cate Blanchett, from US Vogue Nov 2006.
When I first saw this spread, I fell in love and was waiting for the right moment to do something about it! So during my final major project, when all I was doing was staring at the same project for months and months on end, I decided to start this oil painting as a way of releasing some unforced creativity. Not that college was forced, but sometimes when you are made to do a project with deadlines etc etc you do seem to wrack your brains for anything and everything you can scavenge in there! So I wanted to relieve my creativity with different projects on the side. (If that makes any sense at all!)
The thing I love about Cate Blanchett as an actress is that, like Kate Winslett, she plays strong women. Going through her resume there’s Katherine Hepburn, Queen Elizabeth & Maid Marian!
I don’t know about you, but when I go and watch a movie with a strong, female character in, I can’t help but feel empowered and inspired. Especially when the girls kick some ass! haha
Anyway this was the spread from US Vogue
I absolutely, wholeheartedly adore each photo but chose the last as my inspiration!
I could probably pick out a million faults with it, like any artist, but I quite like the softness in the face even if I could have worked it a bit more. The background also needed a bit more work too, hmm.
The feathers in the helmet are actually feathers I found in a craft shop as I wanted it to be a bit more tactile.
I still need to get it framed for my wall. I was thinking of getting my dad to make a driftwood frame for me since he’s a carpenter and all! That or a strong, thick golden grand ornate frame. What do you think??
Hope you’re having a great week!
Lots of Love
Comments
6 Responses to “Cate Blanchett: Muse”
  1. >1. I agree, she is an empowering muse.2. That is such a stunning editorial.3. Your painting is beautiful! You are such a talented girl!!!!xo

  2. >I like your painting even more than the photos! Great work. And I know what you mean about needing a creative outlet even if you're doing a ton of creative work at school or work.

  3. sacramento says:

    >I do agree with you about strong women, and the empowered and inspired feeling.The photographs are wonderful, but in my opinion, your art work is even better.Brilliant!!!I cannot get enough…AbrazosXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

  4. >Kate is great. Like your illustration. AWESOME!Hope your cafe is doing well!♥ V http://www.gritandglamour.comtwitter: @gritandglamour

  5. sacramento says:

    >I hope you will enter the competition in the blog SEA OF SHOES. Have a look. You are the winnerrrrrrrrrrrrrr to me.

  6. Meg says:

    >Thank you ladiessss :)!!!! She is such an awesome lady to paint! I found another photo of her I LOVE so might do that one too ….hmmm! Oooh might have to go and check out the post on her blog, haven't seen it yet! Thank you lovely!! :) xoxo

Leave a Reply

