‘Tis the Season

This year, like my horoscope had said, was very much a small affair about the family.
I convinced my brother to have Christmas at his new place this year for a change of scenery. On Christmas morning we packed everything up in the car and unloaded our supplies at his place in military precision (or thereabouts). My mum still prepared enough food to feed a small army, even though it was going to be “small”, but that’s my family! We watched Christmas movies, ate way too much food, played video games and my brother even whipped out his guitar for a bit. It was a different Christmas to what we’ve had before, but a good different. It’s good to mix it up a bit sometimes!
Here are a few photos of my brothers tree at his place. He has amazing taste, I’m so proud of him for putting together his first Christmas out of home!
I also made special cupcakes and gluten-free mince pies and stacked them on our cupcake stand, which happened to be tree-shaped.

(Frame from Karla’s Closet)




*******
I didn’t have extra cash to splash on my nearest and dearest, but the one thing I did have was spirit. Although it’s still been quite low compared to past years, I wanted to give my family something special for Christmas. And that is where the gift voucher idea came in. Not those credit card-like ones you can pick up anywhere from any store, it was a special one I made from scratch! This way, I can offer something to each of them, something they want or need and I found it to be a very thoughtful and well received gift idea! Usually gifts get tossed to the side or forgotten about after a couple of days/weeks/months, let’s just say they don’t always stand the test of time. However, this is an ongoing gift for the year ahead.
For my dad, I have promised I will research our family tree in Jersey. We started it together last year when I came home from London, but we only got as far back as 1864 with my Great Great Great Grandfather. I want to go back as far as I possibly can! Also it will be quite easy as the Jersey Archives are conveniently a 5 minute walk from our little shop, so no excuses! :)
On my brother’s voucher I added that he was entitled to a custom painting by yours truly! His flat, although amazing as it is, has nothing on the walls. No artwork, no photos, nada! So this is a way to make his place feel more like a home, and a bit more inspiring! Since his flat is in the town area it feels very metropolitan inside, the windows are extremely large and the rooms are quite spacious, so he wanted a large cityscape to go in the lounge area. I was thinking of doing something similar to these compositions, but in sepia tones as he has hints of brown everywhere in the sofa and also in his bedroom furniture.
(photos found at http://www.123rf.com)

I love cityscapes and have never done one before, so I think this is going to be fun! These are all of Manhattan. I really couldn’t think or even find a cityscape photo quite as stunning or as inspiring as these.
I’m going to have my fingers in a lot of pies this year, but I think that’s a good thing. I like having projects lined up because doing nothing at all is probably the worst thing.

I hope you all had a great Christmas day!  I had a really nice rest, catching up on all the sleep I have missed and am now ready to get cracking on a few projects!

Lots of Love


Leave a Reply

