DVF Spring 2011

This week I’ve been having a few internet problems at home, which Is why I haven’t been able to post my latest Friend Friday illustration!
I was so excited, and since I wasn’t ready to post it last week, was slightly annoyed at leaving it yet another week, but c’est la vie! The good thing about having no internet to distract me (combined with the rainy weather this weekend) gave me the chance to sit down and do some more of my favourite types of illustration from some runway shows. I’ve been wanting to draw this look for a while now from Diane von Furstenburg’s Spring 2011 Collection. I also changed it up a bit and put her in a different pose, it’s kind of awkward but I like that about it!

DVF is one of my favourite brands. I’ve drawn one of her Resort outfits before here, but this collection I think packed more punch for Spring. I was blown away by these jumbled prints (you know I’m a sucker for a good print) and this electric blue colour stood out to me the most. The retro-style sunglasses are also cute I think!
Ever since the lovely Kristy took part in Sunglass Hut’s Full Time Fabulous blogger competition (AND WON! GO #TEAMKRISTY! :)) I’ve become obsessed with sunglasses and seem to notice them more around me, or maybe I’m just obsessed and hallucinating? I dont know! But what I do know is that sunglasses have the power to change an outfit and completely reinvent your look depending on which style you go for. These sunglasses, though they’re not “me”, go perfectly with the overall vibe of the collection. Jewellery would make this look too fussy, but these sunglasses are simple, retro, chic.
Good choice DVF.
The baggy, harem-style pants aren’t my favourite shape of all pants, but the colour is exquisite and I really like the length too. Although, again, not flattering for everyone! The way that I’ve drawn them, however, is a bit suspicious and looks like she has some kind of creature crawling around in there. Oh well! :)


Here are my top looks from the collection broken down…




 





Behind the scenes and at the preview…
At the Beauty stations backstage…
Just thought you might want to know what the makeup artists used on the models…



 

Makeup:
On Skin: M.A.C Pearl Cream Colour Base applied on the cheekbones as a highlighter
On Eyes: M.A.C Pearl Cream Colour Base, just dabbed on the centre and inner corners
On Lips: M.A.C Chromagraphic Pencil Magenta and Neon Pigment in Magenta Madness

 

 

photos are all sourced from style.com and vogue.com






Lots of Love


Comments
2 Responses to “DVF Spring 2011”
  1. Your blog is aammmmmmmmmaaaazzzzzinnnnnnnnggggggg!!!!! You have another new follower today. :-)

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] my DVF Spring 2011 Illustration? Well, whilst browsing the high-street retailers online a month or two ago I noticed […]



Leave a Reply

