Friend Friday: Superman

As you may have heard, the next actor to star as the infamous Superman, is Henry Cavill. What you may not know (if you haven’t already Wikipedia’d or IMDb’d him yet) is that he is actually a Jerseyman. Yes, born and raised on the very same island that I come from. In fact, my mum was taught aromatherapy professionally by his mum, that is indeed how very small our island is!

Anyway, I found a really lovely photo of him smiling and thought it was perfect for my new “smiley sketchbook” that I’m slowly putting together! This is the first guy I’ve actually drawn, i’m pretty pleased with it so you may be seeing a lot more of the male species on my blog in the future!
I think the suit is a perfect fit, don’t you think?!

I’ve been listening to this song on repeat for the last 3 days, it’s called Superman by Joe Brooks and I think it’s beautiful! It’s one of those songs you’d really love a boy to serenade you with, playing a guitar of course :)

Finally, just wanted to say a big well done and congrats to Henry!

I think I can safely say that the whole of Jersey is immensely proud of you and wish you every success for the upcoming role! I have a feeling it’s going to be AMAZING!

Us Jersey Beans are gonna take over the world, you’ll see ;) hehe

Lots of Love

Comments
8 Responses to “Friend Friday: Superman”
  1. THE-LOUDMOUTH says:

    How cool that he’s from the same island as you! Well done on the drawing.

  2. Clare Astra says:

    I saw your work on pink bow and i have to say i LOVE it! you have such a GORGEOUS style! LOVE LOVE LOVE!! totally following you via bloglovin!!

    cant wait to see what you do nxt! xoxo

  3. Well done Meg!! Your first portrait of a man is stunning. I wish you could see his face on the main page thumbnail because it’s gorgeous to look at. I especially love how you highlighted his skin, he’s positively glowing. Don’t worry about the watermark you can hardly notice.

    • thejerseygem says:

      Yay thanks Meag! I changed it ;) I thought the superman part at first to keep suspense, but his face is just too gorgeous to not put it as the featured photo, plus, most people know he’s the next superman anyway :P
      Aw awesome! So glad you picked up on the highlighting bit, I am soso awful at that part, been trying to improve on it for a while so thank you!! :) xoxo

  4. kristy says:

    hi sweetheart!!! i’ve missed you so much!!!!!

    congrats on the new site and url!! how very exciting.

    i can’t believe this is the first guy you’ve done. the drawing is amazing and i look forward to seeing more boys on here!! =)

    how cool he’s from jersey!! must be something in the water breeding such talents like you and him!!!! =)

    hugs!

    Kristy Eléna – Full Time Fabulous
    Vogue Gone Rogue
    Twitter: @kristyelena

    • thejerseygem says:

      Hi Kristy!! I’ve missed you lots too!! :) Thank you darling, I am suuuper excited about the new site, feels so professional hehe! Aw thanks! Well, I tell a little lie, I have drawn guys before…just not on photoshop :) I did a large painting in my art class when I was about 15 of a guy on a dartboard being hit by a dart..haha was slightly weird, might post it sometime! It didn’t include his face though so this is a first in depth go at a guys face!
      I know, isn’t it awesome that he’s a jersey boy! Couldn’t believe it when I heard! Hehe we have a few talented people out there from jersey in all industries, definitely inspiring to me :)
      You must be soso busy with fashion week coming up! Can’t wait to read all about it hun, have fun at IFB!! :)
      xoxo

Leave a Reply

