The Fairy and the Bee

 

What many people won’t know, whether they know me in real life or not, is that my most fond and memorable times of my childhood belong to this holiday. They’d find it ironic since I tend to avoid this “holiday” like the plague, but my life back then seemed to revolve around valentines day, I used to have a valentine sweetheart most of the years that I was at primary school. When I was 10 I got 3 cards that year. I never thought I was that special, so it was pretty awesome! I sometimes made my valentines gifts by hand. One year I made a teeny-weeny bouquet of roses out of craft dough. I still have it for some reason, so I guess it was a bit too girly haha, but I was only 8 years old at the time! My dad helped me to roll up the roses on the dining room table, that was the hardest part! Then I cooked it for a little while so it hardened and voila, done.

My first memory of Valentines Day I was actually in Nursery! I was 4 years old and my then “boyfriend” was a year younger, yes I had a boy toy haha. He gave me a handwritten note which said “To Megan, I Love You” with cute drawings of a heart and some flowers. I still have it in a little box somewhere  for safe keeping, it’s just too special to throw out.

Then my second “boyfriend”, my “first kiss” (a quick peck on the lips underneath a slide in the playground), was the cutest boy ever. We were 6 at the time and he came into school on valentines day with a large bunch of red tulips. Probably the best Valentines memory I can remember because it was just so thoughtful. He also gave me a little crystal heart, which I keep in a little keepsake box.

 

The mini bunch of flowers and crystal heart that I kept from Valentines Past

 

Mini Meg. I was about 4/5 years old at the time.

This illustration is how I’d like to remember Valentine’s Day, and basically reflects what I’d like it to be about, stripped down to the basic framework, no cheese. I really would like to say that I enjoy it more now that I’m grown up, but I must have used up all my Valentines on my childhood. I’m hoping that will change sometime soon though.

 

Got any fun, cute or embarrassing Valentine’s stories from your childhood or growing up…please tell!!! :)

 

Lots of Love

 

 


Comments
11 Responses to “The Fairy and the Bee”
  1. brookemeagan says:

    This is so cute Meg! I have fond memories of Valentine’s Day in my childhood as well. I kept the card I got from my Kindergarten Valentine for years. I remember when he gave it to me I kissed him and then I got in trouble from the teacher ha ha

    I loathed Valentine’s Day in my adolescence for years though. That was during my teenage rebellion when I loathed everything. But I fell back in love with it when I met my current boyfriend. This will be our third Valentine’s Day together. On our first one, we were doing long distance and I drove to see him. When I got there I realized I left my bag at home with my Valentine’s Day outfit and makeup so there I was with my matted hair and yoga pants. He went to such great lengths to run out and get me everything from makeup to a new dress…it was so sweet..and I was such a diva ha ha Oh memories! Happy Valentine’s Day Meg!! xoxo

    • thejerseygem says:

      Aww glad someones with me! I think it’s cute to keep special things like that from childhood! Haha I also got in trouble when my boyfriend brought in the bunch of tulips for me too! She wouldn’t give them back until the end of the day!
      Same here, I haven’t been a fan of it since I left Primary school, I don’t see much point in it to be honest, but I still like to look back at my childhood valentines!
      Your boyfriend sounds amazing! I can’t believe he bought everything new, how sweet indeed!!! :)
      Hope you had a lovely valentines together xoxo

  2. Clare Astra says:

    sooooo cute!!

    Mini Meg is one trendy little girl! i hope u kept that straw hat you are soo SS 2011!! lol happy valentines darl x

  3. Oh, how cute!

    I have no V-Day stories to share. Acutally, I don’t really think much of the holiday, to be honest. My hubby is great all the time, and we have fun or romantic dates multiple times a month, so there is no need to go all out on Feb. 14th.

    ••V••
    http://www.gritandglamour.com
    @gritandglamour

    • thejerseygem says:

      You have such an amazing hubby I’m not surprised you don’t have to celebrate valentines ;)
      I think it’s good and bad. It’s good because sometimes people can get caught up in the stresses of life and need to be reminded to make time for their loved one, but like you say it should be something that happens all year round and not on one day of the year!
      xoxo

  4. SACRAMENTO says:

    Such lovely story. I never think of valentine´s day. it is just another day. Love , like all good things, should be an everyday thing.
    Besos dear Meg.
    XXXXXXXXXXX

    • thejerseygem says:

      Thank you Sacramento, I know it’s just another day to me too, but I like to reminisce on my childhood valentines when It comes around every year! I haven’t celebrated it since I left Primary school actually! And like you say, it should be an everyday thing! :)
      xoxo

  5. Christel says:

    Oh this drawing is so sweet and tender, I love it !!!
    http://selenite.weebly.com/

  6. kristy says:

    this is way too adorable.

    come to think of it, i have really amazing valentine’s day memories from my childhood as well. i think there is something about the sweetness and innocence of it when you’re a kid that doesn’t necessarily translate well into adulthood. it’s too easy to get caught up in the cheese. but kids have an ability to just be genuine and it’s sweet. i think it’s so great you kept those little tokens from past valentine’s days. the little roses you made are really wonderful! talented at a young age darling!!!

    well happy belated valentine’s day sweetheart!

    Kristy Eléna – Full Time Fabulous
    Vogue Gone Rogue
    Twitter: @kristyelena

Leave a Reply

