Monday Morning Inspiration: Home Is Where The Heart Is

I’m back with another Monday Morning Inspiration and today I wanted to share some photos of places around Jersey that inspire me. It’s Spring now, so the sun is shining, the birds are singing, the flowers are ready to bloom and everything just seems much happier and brighter. No matter how much I get frustrated at how small the island is and sometimes wished that I lived somewhere else, my heart will always belong to Jersey. (You might have already guessed that by now from my blog name!)

Unfortunately since I’ve been working a lot lately I haven’t had the time to go and take photos of my favourite places myself.  However, I found some gorgeous photos on flickr that I thought you would enjoy and give you a taster of what Jersey is if you’ve never been here before :o)

Also, anyone who watches the British show Time Team and saw it yesterday should recognise the first photo!

Photos: Jersey Image


The beach is probably the best place to take photos in Jersey, you can get the most beautiful shots of summer sunsets which I am planning on doing this year.

Another thing that I have been doing lately, is researching my Jersey roots. I’ve watched “Who Do You Think You Are?” for years now and have been meaning to start researching my family history ever since the first episode I watched. In the last couple of months, I’ve actually managed to trace our Jersey family back to 1786 so far, so not bad going for just a name! Jersey didn’t have official census’s until the 1840’s so tracing family back is incredibly difficult to say the least! Plus, after a certain point in time everything is written in the old language, Jersey-French which I unfortunately don’t speak a single word of (and only 3% of the population still do)! However, I am really just happy to know that I have at least 6 generations behind me, it definitely makes me feel more at home. And like a billion of other people I will probably find out that I am related to William the Conquerer in some way or another!

Lots of Love & Hugs

Comments
7 Responses to “Monday Morning Inspiration: Home Is Where The Heart Is”
  1. SACRAMENTO says:

    My dear meg, i am so glad to have you back. Thank you for sharing all these lovely pics.
    Much love my dear friend.
    XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

  2. Harriet says:

    What amazing photos – Jersey looks absolutely beautiful!

  3. THE-LOUDMOUTH says:

    You live in a beautiful place, Meg. Thanks for sharing it with us!

  4. Sounds like William got around! No, seriously, that’s one beautiful island. You should be very proud to live there. Do you know that until I read your blog I didn’t even know that an Island named Jersey existed. (Americans really aren’t very good with geography.)

Leave a Reply

