Friend Friday: Grit & Glamour

Copyright ©Meg McCarthy

Name: Vahni
Lives in: North Carolina, USA
Blog: Grit & Glamour 
Twitter: @gritandglamour

I haven’t done a Blogger Portrait in what seems like a lifetime and have had this lovely lady sitting on my computer half-finished for a while now, since March 2nd to be exact! (That’s the great thing about working digitally because I can do a little bit at a time when I haven’t got very long to spare and come back to it as if I never left!)

Now, many of you who have been with me since last August will know that I have previously drawn Vahni. In fact she was my very first illustration I ever did of a blogger. However, it wasn’t in the portrait style I have come to develop and thought it was the right time to revisit one of my muses! I’m sure most of you either read her blog or heard of the lovely V but if you haven’t I will tell you this, she’s a very special blogger indeed.
She reminds me a lot of the women in my mother’s family: strong, independant, intelligent, fiery characters who don’t take sh*t from anyone and stand up for what they believe in. They are also super caring and always put family first (we have italian roots so we’re big on family like the greeks!).

I know this is a big statement but I would say that Vahni is a fantastic role model for my generation to look up to, for blogging or otherwise. Her posts are always thought-provoking, interesting, insightful, helpful….the list goes on. Her voice is genuine and her real voice on video is pretty awesome! (You’ve gotta love a southern twang!)
Unfortunately last month, Vahni wrote of the passing of her uncle. Just looking at the sheer number of people who have commented/tweeted messages of support shows how very loved she is within the blogging community. I hope this drawing eases the pain just a teeny bit.

As always with my Friend Friday Illustrations, I’ve created a short video for you guys to watch! I hope you like this one!

This is for you V and for the amazing community you’ve built around you!
I’m very much looking forward to meeting you one day!

Lots of Love

Comments
22 Responses to “Friend Friday: Grit & Glamour”
  1. Clare Astra says:

    LOVE it! love everything! esp the necklace! .. wonderful darling!!! xoxo

    • thejerseygem says:

      Thanks Clare!! The necklace is my favourite part too :) xoxo

      • thejerseygem says:

        P.S I can’t comment on your most recent blog post, but OMG i am in love with it!! stunning photos! I really wish I could buy the snake bracelet, I have a thing for snake jewellery, but we don’t have a Primark in Jersey :'( You totally suit the flower headbands btw, I love those!

  2. Wow…thank you Meg! I love this. And you wrote so many kind things…I am so flattered, and honored to have been illustrated by you twice!

    xoxo

  3. Courtney says:

    This is so entirely fabulous! You did such a great job.

    Vahni is an amazing person with such a wonderful blog. She stands out and there’s certainly a reason why.

  4. Rocquelle says:

    LOVE this!! She is so amazing and inspirational, and you are very talented!!

  5. You amaze me. I loved your last drawing of V, and this one is even more stunning. It’s a beautiful way to honor someone who is so beautiful, inside and out.

    And I can;t get enough of your videos. Adore watching the progression!

    • thejerseygem says:

      Aw I’m glad you like it! When I did the last one I was only just starting out with the illustrations so I thought now that I’ve gained more experience I’d go back and create a better version :)
      Thanks hun! xoxo

  6. Kristin says:

    You’ve captured the lovely V so perfectly! How amazingly talented you are. Wow!

  7. Gorgeous! Love the detail of the necklace. What you wrote about V is so sweet (and true)!

    • thejerseygem says:

      Thanks Steph! Oh the necklace was my favourite part too ;)
      I found a close up version from the shop online where she bought it, i love doing details like that, it makes it more special i think! xoxo

  8. Wow, that’s so cool! I do blogger illustrations also, but I love the video you made to go along with it. Very creative!

  9. JTwisdom says:

    Very talented, Meg did a wonderful job.

    Vahni is beautiful and looks gorgeous in illustration. Great video.

  10. Sacramento says:

    Sorry I couldn´t tell you sooner how fantastic your work is. I hope you continue with your art. it is a such a magic gift, Meg.
    Much love from Berlin.
    XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

  11. Meg this is beautiful and V is a very special person indeed I visit her blog and totally agree with what you say.
    I aways love your illustrations xoxo

  12. byanika says:

    Hi sweetheart! First of all, big hugs for you! and a mwuah! <3

    Secondly, this is just amazing. When I first saw the pic I thought ah yes, the IFB-conference outfit! :D I absolutely love that you use your wonderful talent in this way, sharing it with us, honouring your fellow bloggers. I wholeheartedly agree with your words about Vahni, I love and adore her.

    Meg, the vids of you drawing are so facinating, I absolutely love that you show them to us. The graphic and music in this one was so fab too.

    I am so exited to see who you are doing next, every time is know there is a friend friday waiting chez toi I feel so exited, like opening a gift, and I am never dissapointed. Love from me on my veranda in Oslo! xx

  13. Caitlin says:

    Meg, I didn’t know Vahni’s blog when I met her at an event I was speaking at (she was moderating)in NY and we’ve been in touch ever since! Her blog is so true to who she is! and she is all of the above and much more! I hope you guys get to meet soon! C.x

Leave a Reply

